It’s hard to believe that it’s been almost a month since I’ve written a post.  A couple of things have changed in my world.  First, and most-importantly, my sister moved out. 😦  She had been living in our 2nd bedroom since 2 weeks before I had the baby.  I wasn’t going to blog about this, since she was somewhat embarrassed to be between jobs and living with her older sister.  Now that she has continued on to bigger things, I truly miss her company, and I miss having live-in help.  It was truly priceless.  On the plus side, now the baby has his own room to grow into.  He loves to stare at the turquoise curtains when the lights shines through them.  But I know he loved having his auntie to hold him and be there whenever Mom needed a break.  These days, without my sister, I truly feel like a Stay-at-home-mom.

Also, Southern California is seeing the first of its chilly weather.  A bit of welcome rain arrived last week.  Those gray skies at six or seven o’clock in the morning are so beautiful, but they make me a bit sad.  I am just a lover of sunshine, I must admit!  Mommyhood is quite nice, but it keeps me busy.  Blogging was always on my mind, but the days skipped by, filled with feedings and diaper changes, trips to Target, stroller-ing through the neighborhood and visits with family and friends.  I would be lying if I said I was not overwhelmed with this new lifestyle — this 24 hour a day job.  I feel I owe the readers (you) the truth — the baby blues are real, and we all get them.  There is no single foolproof remedy to feeling forlorn when you have a new baby, although Starbucks lattes often do the trick!  Those lattes are often followed quickly by a twinge of guilt about injecting caffeine into my breast milk.  Just a little bit is okay, that’s what I’m hearing!!

On that note, Little Guy is 12 weeks old, and I am still exclusively breastfeeding.  I am very proud of this.  It hasn’t been easy but it has been rewarding.  Not a single bottle of formula has been mixed in my house yet, but I feel that I am getting close to trying it out.  

Why, you may ask?  Well…My baby still wakes up once or twice, or three times a night.  He poops OFTEN.  Breastmilk, apparently, runs right through the system.  Sometimes I want to have a BIG glass of wine or even a margarita, and it’s harder these days to find the time to pump my milk in anticipation of an evening on the couch with a cocktail.  In fact, as I just mentioned, on the couch with a cocktail doesn’t really exist.  I don’t seem (yet) to have the magical child who hits the crib at 9:00pm and stays asleep all night.  Not yet.  There’s always hope.  And since I have blogged about this before, let me assure you that I do have patience.

I cannot believe how much he has grown and changed.  I am so blessed that he is here.  He is a wonderful person already, and I can’t wait to teach him about the world!  “A new President, Little Baby, can you believe it?!?!?”

