There is so much to blog about.

So much.

I’ll start with the most important.  Little J has been eating solid foods once a day for two weeks now, and boy am I having fun!  Seriously, feeding my child is perhaps the best part of motherhood for me, and I love being able to breastfeed.  But even more, I love this new ritual of sitting him in the high chair, mixing up a small bowl of something, and watching him take a mouthful of mush, make those “mmmm sounds”, and smile.  God, it is the absolute best!

Our visits with the pediatrician had fallen behind due to her crammed schedule and their computer system being revamped.  Lame.  Luckily, J is doing fabulously.  No more yucky eye gunk, and he is nice and plump.  But not too plump!  Just a gorgeous round little monkey who seems to fall right in the 50% weight and height range.  So, my point is that he was a full 5 months old and I was still breastfeeding him exclusively.  Why fix something that isn’t broken, right?  The doctor said that she likes her patients to start rice cereal at 5 1/2 months.

  • rice cereal once per day for 1 week
  • oatmeal cereal once per day for 1 week
  • introduce one vegetable every 3-5 days, then on to one fruit every 3-5 days

So, here I have a six-month old who’s never tasted a banana!  Not the norm (according to blogs and message boards) but it is working for me!!  Yesterday (the first day of introducing one veggie) I boiled and ground up some sweet potatoes and they were YUM-MY.  Unfortunately, I think they caused a tummy ache or gas pains in the middle of the night (boo) but I imagine his system was just getting used to its first day of non-cereal.  We’ll see.  In the morning, I got a bright orange surprise in J’s diaper!  Yee-haw, I love being a mom.  If I had my druthers, I would have fed him strained broccoli, but according to the book Super Baby Food, a baby should be at least 8 months old for that.

Also, the pediatrician recommended water in a sippy cup, and I am loving the Born Free brand.  All sippy cups are not created equal, it seems.  This one claims to be the best because of minimal valve suction, or somethingy-thing.  My first reaction was to scoff, but the baby really does get more water out of it than the other brand.  I have two sippy cups and both were gifts.  If I buy another, it’ll be Born Free.   (Amazon reviews say that they leak, but I am only using water so far.)

