I can’t believe it was a year ago that I painted the nursery!
IMG_4105
Yes, I think it is time for a before and after photo post of Little J’s Sesame Street themed room. However, I just put him down for a nap, so I will have to bring out my camera later today for the “after” snapshots. And speaking of naps…

I am officially sleep training my son.

Just a few days shy of 9 months old, I sincerely feel that I waited long enough. We have a nice schedule going with two naps a day and a bedtime of 8:30pm. I conferred with hubby, and we agree that now is the time to break him of the need to be rocked into a deep sleep. As much as he is my precious child, loved and treasured, he weighs TWENTY pounds. Getting him down is getting to be a chore. Above all, I fear that the habit of needing to be rocked and sung to will stretch well into his kindergarten years! Haha.
Well, perhaps not that long, but here is my thought: Little J is not quite crawling, trying desperately to pull himself up to sitting, and from sitting to standing. He is determined to gain his strength and become more than just an “expert roller”! What will I do if he still doesn’t go down easy in his crib and he is standing up, grabbing the rail, SCREAMING at me? So yes, now is the time. I let him cry.

    It is as painful as they all say it is.

I called hubby at work this morning, blubbering, “I don’t know if I can do this! It’s so hard!! He won’t stop crying!” But eventually, the crying subsided. So, I commit to have firm resolve in this training TODAY and from here on. I put this out there on the blogosphere because it is most certainly an issue. I have read multiple books, blog posts, articles and opinions on the subject. This is where I have decided to go. Sleep training at 9 months old. Courage be with me.

