Yesterday I had two firsts.

I went to my first boxing class.  My friend J goes to Gio’s Boxing Gym for her workouts as often as 3 times a week.  Of course, she’s human, and will take time off if her son gets sick or she’s catching up on Entourage.  Last night she picked me up and let me shadow her at the 6:00 class.  It was my introductory visit, so it was free.  I wore wraps on my hands for the first time.  A dozen or so males of various ages surrounded me, sweaty and eager to punch a bag.  J grabbed a smelly pair of the gym’s gloves for me to borrow.  They were black and soft.  I felt clueless, but I relished the sensation of having no idea what to do.  I didn’t want to run.  I wanted to learn.  Jab, jab, hook.  Sure, why not?  Like this?  Am I close? It was fun.  After an hour of punching, situps, climbing stairs, lunges and more, I felt fantastic.  Next up, I’ll add Girlfight to my Netflix queue.

My other first: Purchasing kitchen cabinets from Lowe’s.  It was a big purchase, friends.  This was the first step in making our full kitchen remodel a reality.  Eeeeeek!  I had 3 separate appointments with the “kitchen cabinet guy” who helped me map out each drawer and box, top and bottom.  We are keeping the location of all our appliances, so it wasn’t too hard to design the room, per se.  The hardest part was knowing when to point to something with certainty.  Yes, this is the wood I want.  The door style.  I want these details, but not those.  I’m the type who will collapse under the weight of too many options.  I don’t like the phonebook-thick menu at Cheesecake Factory.  I’d rather decide I want to eat a wrap, and then look only at my 3 choices in that category.  My mind raced as I signed off my final kitchen cabinet choices.  But now, it’s over and done.  In about 4 weeks they’ll be delivered and I can stare joyfully at them all stacked up in my garage.  Then I’ll have to choose knobs and handles.  Oh dear, oh dear.

Also…

A look back to last August when another first occurred.

I ask you, is one ever more oblivious than on one’s first birthday?  Everyone around you is singing and celebrating your life, but you are simply confused.

I am already having daydreams about the 2nd birthday party.  I have an idea for a theme, and I love to check the partyperfectblog to get pumped up!  I hate to throw the word inspiration around lightly, but you must check out that site!  If nothing else, I’ll have a theme for the cake and the tablecloth.  I’m not much of a decorator, you see.

