My dearest darling son,

As you sleep, I thank you for being such a smart, healthy little boy.  From the day you were born, you have shown such promise.  I am in awe of your beauty, and flattered by your affection.  Never could I have been prepared for the life changes you would bring.  Being a mother is a lot of work, but I am grateful to be able to do this work, giving my best each day.

One of the things I want to remember to be grateful for is your sleep habits.  You are sleeping through the night often (and have been for many months.)  You are not afraid of the dark.  You love to read your books and hear “The Wheels on the Bus” sung to you every night, setting you in for a good night’s rest.  And when I am angered and frustrated by the tantrum you regularly throw after bathtime, I will remember that you simply want what you want — to stay in the bathtub for an hour.  You have such passion for playing in the water!  You feel things SO strongly as a 2 year old, and I know that this will carry you though many tough times in your later years.  You have a fierce heart, yet you already observe the feelings and needs of others.

As you sleep, I pray that you will come to know that I respect you.  I pray that you will grow to show respect for me and your dad.  I believe that you will be an awesome older brother to your baby sister, and that you will show her how much fun we can have as a family, and protect her when she needs you.

