I had the last bits of this fancy organic cereal in my cupboard.  I knew it was going stale, so I had a nagging desire to experiment with making muffins out of breakfast cereal.  I know it’s been done on other blogs, but this was my first try.  I decided to create my own personal recipe and give it a go.  Here’s what I concocted:

Good Grainy Cereal Muffins

1  1/2 c. all-purpose flour

1/2 c. dark brown sugar

3 tsp. baking powder

1 tsp. cinnamon

1/2 tsp. salt

1 c. low fat buttermilk

1/4 c. oil

1 egg

1 single applesauce cup (such as Mott’s)

1 c. whole grain breakfast cereal

Whisk together dry ingredients.  Add buttermilk, oil, egg, applesauce.  Mix together, adding cereal at the end.  Bake at 400 degrees for 20 minutes.

The verdict:  The muffins turned out tasty and light but stuck to the paper cups.  Arggh.  I recommend spraying the pan with cooking spray instead of using muffin cups.  And next time I will add more sugar to the recipe.

