This video helped ease my strife…I just got done smacking Jimmy’s bottom, screeching at him, crying, pouting and almost shedding a tear while asking, “WHY WON’T YOU LISTEN TO ME?” and then, finally explaining to him why mommy hates getting angry and being sad.  Now I think he’s finally going down for a nap, after almost 3 hours of him wheedling his way out of bed.  And I wasn’t going to let him skip the nap today.  Not after he woke me up at 5:20am asking to watch Wall-E.
Whoever said consistency is key to getting your 3 year old to comply didn’t understand my situation.  It’s like telling someone who yo-yo diets, “Well, it’s really all about eating less.”  So much easier said than done.
Trying to hold, diaper change, and spoon feed Lily over the course of those 3 hours today caused me to often ignore (and sometimes entertain) Jimmy’s little games of avoiding the nap.  This makes me appear weak, and after a while I realize that I haven’t eaten in a long time.  I start to microwave some lousy leftover chinese food, and I hear him chirp, Mommy what are you cooking?  I want to hurl the bowl of kung pao at his head.  Go back to your room, I screech.  Then Lily starts to cry…
These kinds of afternoons do not happen daily.  Still, they happen.  But back to the video.
In college I sang with Jane Lui, and she is a brilliant sparkling person.  I love that she is this beacon of creativity and she knows a lot of cool people who are very much like her.  I imagine myself to be on the periphery of her quirkly circle of friends, much more like her than, say, Christiina Applegate’s character on that oh-so-original sitcom Up All Night.
Life, I’ve decided, is all about how you see yourself.
…These are not the droids you’re looking for.
