I moved Lill-Bill into her brother’s room yesterday.  I needed better sleep.  Admittedly, I was still waking up each time she grunted or groaned at 3:00am.  And…after eight months of even just one little bitty waking each night, I was starting to drag during the day (with two oh-so-alert children.)  Lily’s been completely bottle-fed for about 6 weeks, and I hadn’t fed her in the middle of the night in months.  It didn’t seem to be problematic having her crib at the back of our bedroom.  No chance she could wake her brother up, or her brother could climb into her crib for a cuddle…eek!  And yet I found myself climbing out of bed every single morning at 3:00 or 4:00 or even 5:00 to bring the baby into Mommy and Daddy’s bed for a snuggle and some more sleep.  Oh, she is so little and so warm and sweet!  She won’t stay this way!

But it looks like now I’m done.  If I remember correctly, as babies become more mobile, and ready to crawl and stand, they aren’t as easy to put down for naps.  They grab at your hair, your phone.  They don’t sleep all day while you shop (ah, the good old days!)

So her crib is right in the middle of her brother’s room and I must find the right place for it.  Maybe an interior wall, away from the cold December drafts?  It felt good to open my eyes at 6:00.

